British Columbia.—Royal Commission appointed to inquire into the circumstances of the non-admission of Mrs. Donald Ritchie into hospital and the subsequent loss of her unborn child. Also to inquire into the activating motives of persons and publicity surrounding these circumstances. Apr. 19, 1951. Commissioner: The Honourable H. S. Wood.

Royal Commission to inquire into all circumstances surrounding the incarceration at time of arrest and transportation from Victoria to Oakalla Farm of Daniel LeRoy Sanger. Oct. 23, 1951. Commissioner: His Honour Judge Herbert Howard Shandley.

PART III.—ADMINISTRATIVE FUNCTIONS OF THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

Section 1.—Departments, Boards, Commissions, etc.

The following paragraphs indicate the functions of the various departments of Government and the Special Boards and Commissions in connection with the work of government.

While it is not possible, owing to the limitations of space in the Year Book, to enumerate the details of each service or the divisions or sections of all the departments, the main branches are given along with those services that differ in some quality from the larger class of subjects handled by a department.

Department of Agriculture.—This Department was established in 1867 (30 Vict., c.53) and conducts the concerns of all phases of agriculture. Research and experimentation are carried out by the Science Service and the Experimental Farms Service; the maintenance of standards and protection of products by the Production Service and Marketing Service; reclamation and development by the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration and the Maritime Marshland Rehabilitation Administration; while security and price stability policies are administered under the Prairie Farm Assistance Administration and the Agricultural Prices Support Board. The results of work in these various fields and information on the policies of the Department in general are made available to the public through the Information Service. For further details and statistics, see Chapter X.

The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.—The Canadian Broadcasting Act, 1936, provides that there shall be a Corporation, to be known as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, which shall consist of a Board of nine Governors appointed by the Governor in Council and chosen to give representation to the principal geographical divisions of Canada. The Board of Governors determines CBC policy, and the Chairman of the Board is required to devote the whole of his time to the performance of his duties under the Act.

The General Manager is the Chief Executive of the Corporation and directs the operations and activities of the Corporation as well as the application of CBC policy as determined by the Board of Governors. Under the General Manager the organization of the CBC consists of the following principal divisions: Program, International Service, Engineering, Commercial, Press and Information, Broadcast Regulations, Station Relations, Personnel and Administration, and Treasury. Regional Representatives are appointed for Newfoundland, the Maritimes, the Prairies and British Columbia.

The Corporation reports to a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of National Revenue) who is responsible for dealing with CBC operations when under consideration in Parliament. For further details, see Chapters VIII and XIX.

The Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—This Department came into existence on Jan. 18, 1950, under the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. It comprises the Immigration Branch, the Indian Affairs Branch, the Canadian Citizenship Branch and the Canadian Citizenship Registration Branch.

The Canadian Citizenship Branch works closely with provincial departments of education, national organizations and societies in the co-ordination of citizenship training programs and in preparation and distribution of material on Canadian subjects to the foreign-language press in Canada.

The Registration Branch administers the Canadian Citizenship Act.